electric mountain bike

Kate Courtney, Keegan Swenson, Aaron Gwin headline Team USA for MTB world championships – VeloNews.com

Kate Courtney, Keegan Swenson, Aaron Gwin headline Team USA for MTB world championships – VeloNews.com 2020-09-18Leave a comment

electrical bike Kate Courtney, Keegan Swenson, Aaron Gwin headline Staff USA for MTB world championships – VeloNews.com

“], “filter”: { “nextExceptions”: “img, blockquote, div”, “nextContainsExceptions”: “img, blockquote”} }”>

Staff USA’s quickest off-road cyclists are heading down below.

On Thursday USA Biking introduced the roster for the upcoming 2020 UCI mountain bike world championships in Leogang, Austria, held October 5 – 11.

Highlighting the squad is the 2018 world champion and 2019 world cup total champion, Kate Courtney (Scott/SRAM Racing). She might be joined by four-time nationwide champion Erin Huck (Phases Biking-Scott), and former collegiate nationwide champion and present VeloNews columnist Hannah Finchamp (Orange Seal Off-Street Staff).

The identical girls have additionally been named to the USA Biking Olympic lengthy crew, with the addition of Haley Batten (Specialised Manufacturing facility Racing), who might be racing within the under-23 class.

Jim Miller, USA Biking’s chief of sport efficiency, commented on the crew’s outlook.

“We’re bringing a extremely targeted crew and a bunch of medal succesful athletes competing in opposition to the very best on the earth. Among the athletes have achieved solely a handful of races this yr, for others, this might be their first of the season.” Miller continued, “We imagine we’re bringing one of many strongest groups now we have ever had. For the cross-country racers, many have their eyes on the Olympic Video games in 2021 with this race being a giant issue within the qualification course of.”

The junior girls’s crew might be anchored by Madigan Munroe (Trek Manufacturing facility Racing) who completed third on the 2020 UCI Cyclocross world championships earlier this yr.

On the lads’s aspect, 2019 mountain bike cross-country nationwide champion Keegan Swenson (Stan’s-Pivot Professional Staff p/b Maxxis) will characterize Staff USA within the males’s elite occasion, whereas Christopher Blevins (Specialised Manufacturing facility Racing) will characterize within the U23 class. One Olympic berth is on provide for the USA males, pitting these two in opposition to one another for outcomes which is able to result in an Olympic slot. The junior males’s crew will embrace Riley Amos (Bear Improvement Staff) and Bjorn Riley (Bear Improvement Staff) who each hope to higher final yr’s world championship performances.

Within the downhill competitors, five-time World Cup total champion Aaron Gwin (Intense Manufacturing facility Racing), reigning USA downhill nationwide champion Neko Mulally (Intense Manufacturing facility Racing), Charlie Harrison (Trek Manufacturing facility Racing), Dakotah Norton (Unior Devinci Manufacturing facility Racing), and Luca Shaw (Santa Cruz Syndicate) might be sporting the purple, white, and blue jerseys for the lads, whereas Anna Newkirk (SRAM Younger Weapons Racing) and Mazie Hayden (Defiant Racing) might be racing within the girls’s occasion.

2020 UCI mountain bike world championship Staff USA roster

Cross-country elite males:
Keegan Swenson (Park Metropolis, Utah; Stan’s-Pivot Professional Staff p/b Maxxis)

Cross-country elite girls:
Kate Courtney (Kentfield, Calif.; SCOTT/ SRAM Racing)
Hannah Finchamp (Altadena, Calif.; Orange Seal Off-Street Staff)
Erin Huck (Boulder, Colo.; Phases Biking-Scott)
*Lea Davison and Chloe Woodruff have been each been nominated to the crew, however declined their spots.

Cross-country U23 males:
Christopher Blevins (Durango, Colo.; Specialised Manufacturing facility Racing)

Cross-country U23 girls:
Haley Batten (Park Metropolis, Utah; Specialised Manufacturing facility Racing)

Cross-country junior males:
Riley Amos (Durango, Colo.; Bear Improvement Staff)
Bjorn Riley (Boulder, Colo.; Bear Improvement Staff)

Cross-country junior girls:
Ruth Holcomb (Durango, Colo.; Bear Improvement Staff)
Madigan Munroe (Boulder, Colo.; Trek Manufacturing facility Racing)
Haley Randel (Mill Valley, Calif.; Bear Improvement Staff)

Downhill elite males:
Aaron Gwin (Murietta, Calif.; Intense Manufacturing facility Racing)
Charlie Harrison (Trabuco Canyon, Calif.; Trek Manufacturing facility Racing)
Neko Mulally (Pisgah Forest, N.C.; Intense Manufacturing facility Racing)
Dakotah Norton (Knoxville, Tenn.; Unior Devinci Manufacturing facility Racing)
Luca Shaw (Hendersonville, N.C.; Santa Cruz Syndicate)

Downhill elite girls:
Mazie Hayden (Pittsfield, Vt.; Defiant Racing)
Anna Newkirk (Riehen, Switzerland; SRAM Younger Weapons Racing)

Downhill junior males:
Austin Dooley (Yucaipa, Calif.; Commencal)
Christopher Grice (Brevard, N.C.; Specialised Manufacturing facility Racing)
Dante Silva (Chula Vista, Calif.; unattached)
Matthew Sterling (San Jose, Calif.; Big Manufacturing facility Off-Street Staff)

Downhill junior girls:
Ella Erickson (Hayden, Idaho; unattached)

2020 UCI mountain bike world championship schedule

Wednesday, October 7: crew relay and e-bike
Thursday, October 8: junior girls’s and junior males’s cross-country
Friday, October 9: downhill qualifying and U23 Males’s cross-country
Saturday, October 10: U23 girls’s, elite girls’s, and elite males’s cross-country
Sunday, October 11: all junior and elite downhill finals

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *